View Google Maps Maps

To view the map file for a particular waymaker type in Google Maps, click on the underlined layer name in the following list. Note that Milestones are split into 9 English regions, Wales and Scotland because with some 12,000 milestones the complete map file is too large for Google Maps.

Only one layer / region map file can be displayed at a time.

Use the browser back to return from Google Maps to this page





Issue Date

1 Milestones
-See Map Below
milestones and inscribed guideposts         
Dec 2014


Scotland   ————
    North East ————
  Wales   East
  South West
South West
2 —- Boundary Markers boundary markers and pre-1939
commemorative waymarkers
Feb 2015
3 Crosses stone crosses and
uninscribed guideposts
Dec 2014
4 New Milestones new milestones and
waymarkers since 1939
Dec 2014
5 Missing Milestones milestones that have now gone missing
(includes stolen milestones)
Dec 2014
6 Out of Place Milestones milestones now in museums, gardens etc
pin shows curent location
pop up box shows original location
Dec 2014
7 Canal Mileposts canal mileposts Dec 2012
8 Finger Posts finger posts Dec 2014
9 AA Signs AA signs Dec 2014
10 Tollhouses tollhouses Dec 2014

Different coloured icons are used to display markers in each layer as indicated above. Clicking on an icon will produce a window with information about the marker and a photograph if available. Some photographs are stored in the Milestone Society’s own repository, some are on external sites such as Flickr, Images of England or GeoGraph.

Icons labels showing the database national ID can be displayed in Google Maps by selecting the Earth map option. Note, however, that this requires the Google Earth plug-in to be installed on your computer.

Information on parishes in the map files is provided courtesy of English Heritage.

Scroll to Top