View Maps

To view the map file for a particular waymaker type in Google Maps, click on the underlined layer name in the following list. Note that Milestones are split into 9 English regions, Wales and Scotland because with some 12,000 milestones the complete map file is too large for Google Maps.

Only one layer / region map file can be displayed at a time and only basic Google Maps control and display facilities are available. 

You can view the map file in Google Maps with its full facilities, by clicking on the View Larger Map option that is given below the displayed map . 


Layer ———-

Contents ———————-


Issue Date

1 Milestones
-See Map Below
Milestones and Inscribed Guideposts
December 2012


North East ————
Wales East
South West
South West
2 —- Boundary Markers Boundary Markers and Pre-1939
Commemorative Waymarkers
December 2012
3 Crosses Stone Crosses and
Uninscribed Guide Posts
December 2012
4 New Milestones New milestones and
waymarkers since 1939
December 2012
5 Missing Milestones milestones that have now gone missing
(includes stolen milestones)
December 2012
6 Out of Place Milestones Milestones now in museums, gardens etc
pin shows original location
pop up box shows location now
December 2012
7 Canal Mileposts canal mileposts Coming Soon
8 Finger Posts finger posts December 2012
9 AA Signs AA Signs December 2012
10 Tollhouses Tollhouses December 2012

Different icons are used to display markers in each layer as indicated above. Icons labels showing the database national ID can be viewed in Google Maps by selecting the Earth map option . Clicking on an icon will produce a window with information about the marker and a photograph if available. Some photographs are stored in the Milestone Society’s own repository, some are on external sites such as Flickr, Images of England or GeoGraph.

Information on parishes in the map files is provided courtesy of English Heritage.

Scroll to Top